Skip to main content

2024 MRN/SWANA Mid-Atlantic Annual Conference Recap


Kitty McIlroy Elected as 2023-24 MRN President

Published on 6/19/2023

The Maryland Recycling Network held its Board of Directors election for the upcoming 2023-24 term* at the MRN Annual Meeting during MRN/SWANA Mid-Atlantic Conference on June 12, 2023. Members elected Kitty McIlroy, Northeast Maryland Waste Disposal Authority, as president and to a two-year director term position.

Members also elected were Michele Blair, City of Laurel Office of the City Administrator, as vice president and Anthony Drury, Washington County Department of Public Works, as secretary/treasurer (both will also be completing the 2nd year of their two-year term as directors).

Likewise, members elected six individuals for a two-year term as director.

Here’s the full list for 2023-24:

OFFICERS (Serving a one-year term beginning July 2023):
  • President – Kitty McIlroy, Northeast Maryland Waste Disposal Authority
  • Vice President – Michele Blair, City of Laurel, Office of the City Administrator
  • Secretary/Treasurer – Anthony Drury, Washington County Department of Public Works


Serving a two-year term beginning July 2023:
Returning directors, serving year two of a two-year term include:
*Terms run July 1 – June 30

The Board of Directors consists of 15 members, three of which are also on the Executive Committee, and represent a broad base of county and municipal government agencies, private businesses and corporations, and private citizens.

The BOD sets the direction for the association, actively engages in legislative advocacy throughout the year to promote a healthy sustainable environment. They also provide a sounding board for members who are encouraged to contact any of the board members to share thoughts, feedback and questions about MRN, legislation and/or recycling.

Congratulations to all our new and returning members. Now let’s get to work!

Contact MRN with any questions or ideas by email or by calling (443) 741-8740.

Support Our Recycling Community
Sign Up or Donate Today